Put Over 30 Years of Michigan Family Law Experience On Your Side

Filing Divorce in Michigan
Mandatory Waiting Period

If there were no children born to a couple, or their children are no longer minors, a Judgment of Divorce can be granted after 60 days have passed from the date the Complaint for Divorce was filed.  When the parties have minor children, the statutory waiting period is 6 months.  The 6 month waiting period can be waived in certain cases, however, this is within the discretion of the court and requires the Judge to find that it is in the best interest of minor child(ren) to waive the waiting period.

Schedule a Consultation

To discuss your divorce and related family law issues with a dedicated Detroit divorce attorney, please call 734-254-1140.