Put Over 30 Years of Michigan Family Law Experience On Your Side

Wayne County, MI Divorce Attorneys
Filing Procedure

Once it is determined what county the case will be filed in, a Complaint for Divorce is drafted, signed by the Plaintiff, under oath, and filed with the proper county’s Family/Circuit Court  Clerk’s office.  In Michigan, the divorce must be accompanied by a Summons, which is a form which notifies the Defendant that the Complaint has been filed; where; who the Plaintiff’s attorney is, and how long they have to file their response with the court clerk. 

A filing fee must be paid to the Court Clerk at the commencement of the case.  Filing fees may vary depending on the type of action.  The filing fee for a divorce filed in Wayne, Oakland, Livingston and Washtenaw County is $150.00.  Additional fees may be required such as when a Friend of the Court investigation is sought and/or children are involved (usually $80), or a request for modification of custody ($100)

Contact a Wayne County, MI Divorce Attorney
Schedule a Consultation

With vast experience in the courts of Wayne County, Oakland County, Washtenaw County, Livingston County and all surrounding areas, we can help you understand your rights and obligations